Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/09. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Torsten leads new-look Cheetahs

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Cheetahs, Currie Cup, Original Content on 6 Aug 2014 at 12:59
Tagged with : , , , , , , ,

The extent to which the Toyota Cheetahs Super Rugby side has been ravaged by Bok call-ups and player movements has been revealed, with coach Rory Duncan naming a virtually unrecognisable line-up for Saturday’s Currie Cup game against the Steval Pumas. Hooker Torsten van Jaarsveld, himself somewhat of a newcomer, leads a team boasting few familiar faces indeed.

Props Kevin Stevens and Luan de Bruin featured towards the end of Super Rugby and will start this week in the absence of the injured Coenie and Caylib Oosthuizen (no relation). Carl Wegner is, like de Bruin, a former Junior Psringboks and he joins Francois Uys in the second row. Flankers Tienie Burger and Neil Claasen are also newcomers, with Boom Prinsloo the most experienced man in the pack.

Sarel Pretorius, Raymond Rhule, Rayno Benjamin and Frans Venter are the Super Rugby players returning amongst the backs, with Benjamin moving from the centre berth he occupied earlier in the year to operate at wing. Venter missed the bulk of the season due to injury, but returns in the 13 shirt as the side’s vice captain. Former Leopard Joubert Engelbrecht is at 12, with Willie du Plessis at flyhalf and the unknown AJ Coertzen in the last line of defence.

Toyota Free State Cheetahs: 15 AJ Coertzen, 14 Rayno Benjamin, 13 Francois Venter (v/capt), 12 Joubert Engelbrecht, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Willie du Plessis, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Boom Prinsloo, 7 Neill Claasen, 6 Tienie Burger, 5 Francois Uys, 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Luan de Bruin, 2 Torsten van Jaarzveld (capt), 1 Kevin Stevens
Replacements: 16 Hercu Liebenberg, 17 Bees Roux, 18 Waltie Vermeulen, 19 Henco Venter, 20 Renier Botha, 21 Elgar Watts, 22 JP du Plessis


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.