Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/09. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Sharks named for opener

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Currie Cup, Original Content, Sharks on 7 Aug 2014 at 13:31
Tagged with : , , ,

Brad Macleod-Henderson has named a strong Sharks team to face Griquas in the Currie Cup opener this weekend.

The starting team features just three debutants at this level, with loosehead prop Thomas du Toit, flank Etienne Oosthuizen and scrumhalf Cameron Wright set to pull on the jersey for the first time. Du Toit and Oosthuizen have, of course, already cut their teeth in Super Rugby.

Kyle Cooper and Lourens Adriaanse, who played bit parts in the Super Rugby campaign, join du Toit in the front row, while Marco Wentzel comes in to join Stephan Lewies behind them. Oosthuizen plays blindside flank in a loose trio that includes veteran Jacques Botes at open side and new captain Tera Mtembu at number 8.

Wright is the greenhorn in an otherwise strong-looking backline; Fred Zeilinga will operate at flyhalf while the Super Rugby centre pair of Paul Jordaan and S’bura Sithole has bee retained. Odwa Ndungane and Tonderai Chavanga (who has plenty of Currie Cup experiences in other colours) will be the wings, with SP Marais operating at fullback.

The coach has opted for a 5-2 split on the bench, selecting two prop reserves in Dale Chadwick and new boy Matt Stevens. Former Boland JC Astle is set for a first Sharks run as lock replacement, while Franna Kleinhans will provide loose forward cover. Monde Hadebe is the reserve hooker.

Uncapped Hanco Venter and Lionel Cronje are both set for their first Sharks caps as the backline replacements.

Cell C Sharks: 15 SP Marais, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 S’bura Sithole, 12 Paul Jordaan, 11 Tonderai Chavanga, 10 Fred Zeilinga, 9 Cameron Wright, 8 Tera Mtembu (captain), 7 Etienne Oosthuizen, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Stephan Lewies, 4 Marco Wentzel, 3 Lourens Adriaanse, 2 Kyle Cooper, 1 Thomas du Toit
Replacements: 16 Monde Hadebe, 17 Dale Chadwick, 18 Matt Stevens, 19 JC Astle, 20 Francois Kleinhans, 21 Hanco Venter, 22 Lionel Cronje


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.