Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/12. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Three changes in Bok pit-stop

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, Springboks, The Rugby Championship on 25 Aug 2014 at 19:23
Tagged with : , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Springboks, having just arrived back from a somewhat successful tour to Argentina, leave again on Saturday for Perth, where they will play their next Castle Rugby Championship test against Australia next weekend.

Heyneke Meyer has made three changes to his squad of 30 for that trip. Injured Stormers prop Frans Malherbe, who broke an ankle in Salta on Saturday, is replaced by Bulls bench prop Marcel van der Merwe, a clear indication of the coach’s preference for form ahead of provincial affiliation.

Victor Matfield and Willem Alberts, both of whom missed the trip to Argentina with various ailments, have both also been included, at the expense of veteran Juan Smith and uncapped Warren Whiteley. Matfield is a definite for the trip, while Alberts will undergo one more test on his hamstring on Thursday before a final call is made.

Despite being shown up badly against the 12th-ranked side in the world, it is Smith, rather than the more deserving Whiteley, who will remain with the squad should Alberts fail that fitness test.Guess you can’t buy experience at this level, particularly if the coach refuses to pick you unless you already have some.

Springbok squad:

Forwards: Willem Alberts (Juan Smith), Bakkies Botha, Schalk Brits, Marcell Coetzee, Lodewyk de Jager, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Eben Etzebeth, Francois Louw, Victor Matfield, Teboho Mohoje, Tendai Mtawarira, Trevor Nyakane, Gurthrö Steenkamp, Adriaan Strauss, Marcel van der Merwe, Duane Vermeulen.

Backs: Damian de Allende, Jean de Villiers (captain), Bryan Habana, Cornal Hendricks, Francois Hougaard, Patrick Lambie, Willie le Roux, Lwazi Mvovo, Ruan Pienaar, Handré Pollard, Cobus Reinach, Jan Serfontein, Morné Steyn.


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.