Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/02. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Two Shark changes for Puma clash

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Currie Cup, Original Content, Sharks on 27 Aug 2014 at 13:02
Tagged with : , , , , , , , , ,

JC Astle and Conrad Hoffmann come in for starts as the Cell C Sharks team to take on the Pumas in Nelspruit on Friday night is named.

Astle, the young lock who joined the Sharks from the Boland Cavaliers ahead of the Currie Cup campaign, last started against the self-same opposition in Durban a fortnight ago, wearing the number 4 jersey. He picked up a knock in that game and missed out on last week’s clash against the Cheetahs, but will this week have an even bigger task on his hands as he wears Marco Wentzel’s number 5 jersey – and takes on the role of lineout general.

Stephan Lewies continues his comeback from injury off the bench.

The only change to a back unit that failed to fire against the Cheetahs comes at scrumhalf, where young Cameron Wright is benched in favour of the more experienced Hoffmann. The latter added a fair amount of much-needed calm and composure coming on against the men from Bloemfontein and will need to ensure more of the same in the Mbombela Stadium cauldron, where another sloppy backline performance will surely result in defeat. S’bura Sithole, who was an injury doubt earlier in the week, has been cleared to resume his partnership with Paul Jordaan in midfield.

A switch on the bench sees Lourens Adriaanse picked as the only prop reserve, meaning a rest for Thomas du Toit and another opportunity for Johan Meyer to show what he can do in senior rugby.

Cell C Sharks: 15. SP Marais, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. S’bura Sithole, 12. Paul Jordaan, 11. Tonderai Chavhanga, 10. Fred Zeilinga, 9. Conrad Hoffmann, 8. Tera Mtembu (Capt) , 7. Francois Kleinhans, 6. Jacques Botes, 5. JC Astle , 4. Etienne Oosthuizen, 3. Matt Stevens, 2. Kyle Cooper , 1. Dale Chadwick
Replacements: 16. Franco Marais, 17. Lourens Adriaanse, 18. Stephan Lewies , 19. Johan Meyer , 20. Cameron Wright, 21. Heimar Williams, 22. Lionel Cronje


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.