Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/10. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

ABSA Currie Cup 2014: Round 4 preview and predictions

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Currie Cup, Original Content on 28 Aug 2014 at 15:10
Tagged with : , , ,

Well here we go, we’re heading for the first set of return matches in this rather strange Currie Cup, which is divided into two sections everywhere but on the log….

Steval Pumas v Cell C Sharks (Friday 19h10)

This is going to be a toughie for the Durbanites. They battled for 40 minutes against these guys in Durban before finally getting their lineout drive working en route to a rather fortunate bonus point victory. There will not be the luxury of such soft moments within the Pumas’ own fortress, though and one fancies the visitors will be lucky to get away with the points here. Just maybe the Sharks will manage to make those last passes stick this week? Sharks to win by 5, but it could easily go the other way too.

Steval Pumas: 15 JW Bell, 14 Jerome Pretorius, 13 JW Jonker, 12 Stefan Watermeyer, 11 Rosco Speckman, 10 Justin van Staden, 9 Dylon Frylinck, 8 Renaldo Bothma, 7 Uzair Cassiem, 6 Corne Steenkamp (captain), 5 Giant Mtyanda, 4 Frikkie Spies, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Francois du Toit, 1 Corne Fourie.
Replacements: 16 Frankie Herne, 17 Dee-Jay Terblanche, 18 Marius Coetzer, 19 Jaco Bouwer, 20 Reynier van Rooyen, 21 JC Roos, 22 Coenie van Wyk.

Cell C Sharks: 15. SP Marais, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. S’bura Sithole, 12. Paul Jordaan, 11. Tonderai Chavhanga, 10. Fred Zeilinga, 9. Conrad Hoffmann, 8. Tera Mtembu (Capt) , 7. Francois Kleinhans, 6. Jacques Botes, 5. JC Astle , 4. Etienne Oosthuizen, 3. Matt Stevens, 2. Kyle Cooper , 1. Dale Chadwick
Replacements: 16. Franco Marais, 17. Lourens Adriaanse, 18. Stephan Lewies , 19. Johan Meyer , 20. Cameron Wright, 21. Heimar Williams, 22. Lionel Cronje

GWK Griquas v Toyota Free State Cheetahs (Saturday 15h00)

Another tough one to call, this… neither side has impressed overly in the opening rounds, but we fancy the Cheetahs’ Kimberley bogey is set to come back to bite them again. This Kwas side is not as strong as the ones of old, but should still be able to eke out a win on home soil against the old foe. Griquas to win a dour game by 2 points.

GWK Griquas: 15. Francois Brummer, 14. Ederies Arendse, 13. Jonathan Francke, 12. Wayne Stevens (Captain), 11. PJ Vermeulen, 10. Dean Grant, 9. Tian Meyer, 8. Carel Greeff, 7. Ruaan Lerm, 6. Marnus Schoeman, 5. Jaco Nepgen, 4. Jonathan Adendorf, 3. Ewald van der Westhuizen, 2. Martin Bezuidenhout, 1. Steph Roberts
Replacements: 16. Ryno Barnes, 17. Janro van Niekerk, 18. Hugo Kloppers, 19. Burger Schoeman, 20. Abraham Griesel, 21. Doppies la Grange, 22. Rocco Jansen

Toyota Free State Cheetahs: 15. Clayton Blommetjies, 14. Rayno Benjamin, 13. Francois Venter, 12. Joubert Engelbrecht, 11. Raymond Rhule, 10. Willie du Plessis, 9. Sarel Pretorius, 8. Jean Cook, 7. Neil Claassen, 6. Tienie Burger, 5. Francois Uys, 4. Henco Venter, 3. Rudolph Botha, 2. Torsten van Jaarsveld (Captain), 1. Kevin Stevens
Replacements: 16. AJ Le Roux, 17. George Marich, 18. Waltie Vermeulen, 19. Vincent Jobo, 20. Shaun Venter, 21. Pieter-Steyn de Wet, 22. JP du Plessis

Vodacom Blue Bulls v DHL Western Province (Saturday 17h05)

The Bulls may have found a way to win against the lowly Kings last week, but that doesn’t mean they’re going to be anything other than simply outclassed against a Province side that simply cannot lose this game. The men from Pretoria have neither the personnel nor the game plan to avoid defeat and Province will win at a canter, by around 12 points.

Vodacom Blue Bulls: 15 Jesse Kriel, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 William Small-Smith, 12 Burger Odendaal, 11 Sampie Mastriet, 10 Jacques Louis Potgieter/Joshua Stander, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Jono Ross, 7 Jacques du Plessis, 6 Deon Stegmann (capt), 5 Grant Hattingh, 4 Paul Willemse, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Callie Visagie, 1 Dean Greyling.
Replacements: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Hencus van Wyk, 18 Nicolaas Janse van Rensburg, 19 Jacques Engelbrecht, 20 Rudy Paige, 21 Tian Schoeman, 22 Ryan Nell.

DHL Western Province: 15. Cheslin Kolbe, 14. Kobus van Wyk, 13. Juan de Jongh (Captain), 12. Jaco Taute, 11. Seabelo Senatla, 10. Demetri Catrakilis, 9. Nick Groom, 8. Nizaam Carr, 7. Michael Rhodes, 6. Siya Kolisi, 5. Manuel Carizza, 4. Jean Kleyn, 3. Pat Cilliers, 2. Stephan Coetzee, 1. Alistair Vermaak
Replacements: 16. Neil Rautenbach, 17. Brok Harris, 18. Ruan Botha, 19. Rynhardt Elstadt, 20. Louis Schreuder, 21. Kurt Coleman, 22. Pat Howard

EP Kings v Xerox Golden Lions

Last week’s loss in Cape Town took a bit of gloss off the otherwise golden Golden Lions, but they’re still a force to be reckoned with, particularly with their inspirational skipper back and a more accustomed flyhalf option in the number 10 shirt. EP will again provide stern opposition, but they won’t have enough in the tank to prevent a convincing Lions win. Lions to prevail by around 15 points.

EP Kings: 15 Scott van Breda, 14 Siyanda Grey, 13 Ronnie Cooke, 12 Shane Gates, 11 Siviwe Soyizwapi, 10 George Whitehead, 9 Kevin Luiters, 8 Aidon Davis, 7 Paul Schoeman, 6 Thembelani Bholi, 5 Steven Sykes, 4 David Bulbring, 3 Tom Botha, 2 Edgar Marutlulle, 1 Bennie Geldenhuys Uys.
Replacements: 16 Mike van Vuuren, 17 Charles Marais, 18 Shaun McDonald, 19 Stefan Willemse, 20 Tobie Botes, 21 Dwayne Jenner, 22 Ntabeni Dukisa.

Xerox Golden Lions: 15 Ruan Combrink 14 Lionel Mapoe 13 Stokkies Hanekom 12 Alwyn Hollenach 11 Courtnall Skosan 10 Andries Coetzee 9 Ross Cronje 8 Warren Whiteley (c) 7 Warwick Tecklenburg 6 Jaco Kriel 5 Franco Mostert 4 MB Lusaseni 3 Ruan Dreyer 2Armand van der Merwe 1 Schalk van der Merwe
Replacements: 16 Robbie Coetzee 17 Jacques van Rooyen 18 Willie Britz 19 Derick Minnie 20 Kwagga Smith 21 Ricky Schroeder 22 Howard Mnisi


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.