Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/10. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Ungerer blow (again)

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, Sharks on 26 Sep 2014 at 12:52
Tagged with : , , , , , , , ,

The Sharks under 21 side’s unexpected (but most welcome) victory in Johannesburg last week came at a significant cost, with scrumhalf and captain Stefan Ungerer ruled out for another few weeks due to a concussion sustained in that game.

Ungerer was taken out illegally behind a ruck by mammoth Lions lock JP du Preez and it’s only slight consolation that the big man’s 4-week suspension, confirmed today, is likely to exceed the Sharks scrumhalf’s injury lay-off.

Hanco Venter, who played a role for the Currie Cup side off the bench last week, comes in to start against Border, with Sheldon Castle making his first appearance of the season as reserve. Sipho Mkhize starts at left wing for Alrin Eksteen in the only other change to the starting fifteen, meaning, amazingly, a completely unchanged pack of forwards for the first time in the campaign.

It may have come too late, but let’s hope that the side has now finally found a winning combination and can restore some pride in the last remaining fixtures. A semi-final appearance is unfortunately already out of the question.

Further changes on the bench this week see Roan Dalzell, Bart le Roux and Tyler Fisher come into the squad.

Sharks Under 21s: 15. Alcino Izaacs, 14. Michael Cloete, 13. Nkululeko Marwana , 12. Sandile Kubeka, 11. Sipho Mkhize, 10. Brendan Cope, 9. Hanco Venter , 8. Louis Hazelhurst, 7. Liam O’Connell, 6. Sias Koen, 5. David Fisher, 4. Buzwe Mpotulo, 3. Marne Coetzee, 2. Jacques Taylor (capt), 1. Barend Potgieter
Replacements: 16. Roan Dalzell, 17. Bart le Roux, 18. Johan Wagenaar, 19. Sabata Mokhachane , 20. Sheldon Castle, 21. Tyler Fisher, 22. Alrin Eksteen


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.