Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/10. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Lions close to full strength for Sharks trip

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Currie Cup, Lions, Original Content on 30 Sep 2014 at 13:00
Tagged with : , , , , , , , , ,

Aside from the absence of Warren Whiteley, Golden Lions coach Johan Ackermann has been able to name a pretty much full strength side for Fridays’ crunch Currie Cup match against the Sharks in Durban.

Lionel Mapoe again leads the side from outside centre, with Ackerman recalling a number of regulars after shuffling his decks a little for last week’s easy win over Griquas.

Impressive young flyhalf Jaco van der Walt loses out this week, dropping out of the squad entirely as Bok Marnitz Boshoff is returned to the number 10 jersey. Stokkies Hanekom replaces benched Howard Mnisi at inside center in the only other backline change.

It’s up front where things are more different, though. A whole new front row in Schalk van der Merwe, Robbie Coetzee and Ruan Dreyer start the match, with Willie Britz replacing Whiteley at number 8 in the final change.

Three men on the bech, Mnisi, Mark Richards and Julian Redelinghuys, have played for the Sharks before, as has a fourth in the form of starting scrumhalf Ross Cronje.

Golden Lions: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Lionel Mapoe (capt), 12 Stokkies Hanekom, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Marnitz Boshoff, 9 Ross Cronjé, 8 Willie Britz, 7 Warwick Tecklenburg, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Martin Muller, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Schalk van der Merwe.
Subs: 16 Armand van der Merwe, 17 Julian Redelinghuys, 18 Jacques van Rooyen, 19 Derick Minnie, 20 Kwagga Smith, 21 Mark Richards, 22 Howard Mnisi.


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.