Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/10. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Cooper returns for semi-final

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Currie Cup, Original Content, Sharks on 16 Oct 2014 at 11:14
Tagged with : , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Sharks coaches have stuck to their guns ahead of Saturday’s Currie Cup semi-final against the Lions, making just one change to the team that beat Western Province in the final round of league action.

Kyle Cooper, who missed that trip to Cape Town due to an ankle strain, returns to the mix this week and takes over as starting hooker from Monde Hadebe. Hadebe, who had a good game at Newlands, moves to the bench, with Franco Marais dropping out of the squad.

Tera Mtembu leads an otherwise unchanged side onto the park, with three capped Springboks in the backline in scrumhalf Cobus Reinach and wings Lwazi Mvovo and Tonderai Chavhanga. Stephan Lewies (one cap) and Marco Wentzel (two caps) are the Boks in the pack, while Matt Stevens is, of course, a seasoned test veteran in English colours.

Lourens Adriaanse will add further test experience off the bench to what is otherwise the least-experienced sharks side to contest a Currie Cup semi-final in many a year.

Sharks: 15. SP Marais, 14. Tonderai Chavhanga, 13. S’bura Sithole, 12. Andre Esterhuizen, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Lionel Cronje, 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Tera Mtembu (Capt) , 7. Etienne Oosthuizen, 6. Jacques Botes, 5. Marco Wentzel, 4. Stephan Lewies, 3. Matt Stevens, 2. Kyle Cooper, 1. Thomas du Toit
Replacements: 16. Monde Hadebe, 17. Dale Chadwick, 18. Lourens Adriaanse, 19. JC Astle, 20. Khaya Majola, 21. Conrad Hoffmann, 22. Fred Zeilinga


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.