Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/10. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Sharks tour squad named

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, Sharks, Super Rugby on 24 Apr 2015 at 08:30
Tagged with : , , , , ,

Gary Gold has selected his best available squad of 27 for the upcoming Super Rugby tour, with the return of some key players from injury or suspension off-setting a number of other losses.

Late breaking news this morning (and forcing a change to the announced squad just ten minutes after its release) is the withdrawal of Ryan Kankowski due to an unspecified injury. His replacement is Giant Mtayanda – not an ideal situation given that the side now tours with only three recognised loose forwards among a group of 15 forwards.

Matt Stevens and Dale Chadwick come in to join Beast Mtawarira, Jannie du Plessis and Lourens Adriaanse, all three of whom played against the Bulls. Franco Marais cracks the nod as Bismarck du Plessis’s alternate at hooker, with Kyle Cooper seemingly still out in the cold. Marco Wentzel, Mouritz Botha, Stephan Lewies and Mtayanda form a strong locking contingent, with Etienne Oosthuizen surely now designated for a loose forward role on tour. Marcell Coetzee, Renaldo Bothma and Willem Alberts are the others.

Lewies will depart later than his teammates, since he has a Vodacom Cup match on Saturday afternoon to get through.

Stefan Ungerer tours as a third scrumhalf (behind Cobus Reinach and Conrad Hoffmann), with Fred Zeilinga and Lionel Cronje the flyhalf options. Seven other backs have been selected and will doubtless need to mix and match on tour; Andre Esterhuizen, Frans Steyn (suspended for the first match) and Waylon Murray are the pure centres, Lwazi Mvovo and Odwa Ndungane the outside backs and S’bura Sithole and JP Pietersen able to be a bit of either.

Beast Mtawarira, Jannie du Plessis, Dale Chadwick, Lourens Adriaanse, Matt Stevens, Bismarck du Plessis, Franco Marais, Marco Wentzel, Mouritz Botha, Stephan Lwwies, Giant Mtayanda, Etienne Oosthuizen, Renaldo Bothma, Marcell Coetzee, Willem Alberts.
Cobus Reinach, Conrad Hoffmann, Stefan Ungerer, Fred Zeilinga, Lionel Cronje, Frans Steyn, Andre Esterhuizen, Waylon Murray, JP Pietersen, S’bura Sithole, Lwazi Mvovo, Odwa Ndungane


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.