Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/10. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Cooper to skipper Sharks XV

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, Sharks, Vodacom Cup on 30 Apr 2015 at 09:07
Tagged with : , , , , , , ,

The loss of a number of players to the SA Under 20 squad has forced Sharks XV coach Ryan Strudwick into a reshuffle ahead of Saturday’s match against Griquas. Super Rugby players Kyle Cooper and Paul Jordaan have been added to bolster the squad, while there’s an opportunity for new signing Garth April to get in on the action too.

Regular captain Monde Hadebe has been ruled out due to illness, making way for a fresh Kyle Cooper to take over as hooker and captain. Mthunzi Moloi starts at tighthead in a second change to the tight five, while a third sees fit-again JC Astle start at five lock for Junior Bok Hyron Andrews. In the loose trio, Sias Koen (7) and Plank Meyer (8) take over from the du Preez twins.

Heimar Williams, who started at flyhalf against Boland, has been given the week off, necessitating a shift into the number 10 jersey for Cameron Wright. Hanco Venter comes in to partner him, while Jordaan starts in his favoured number 13 jersey outside promising youngster Marra Louw – interestingly, both centres are Grey College old boys, although a good few years apart in vintage! Alcino Izaacs moves to wing in place of the injured Neil Maritz, with April to start at fullback.

The bench sees wholesale changes too; Andrew du Plessis (another old Grey) covers hooker, Marne Coetzee prop, Christiaan de Bruyn lock and Ayron Schramm the back row. De Bruyn is a former Bulls age group player who has cast his lot with the Sharks this year. The selection of two scrumhalves in the starting lineup means there’s no need for a third on the bench; Sandile Kubeka, Tyler Fisher and Charlie Mayeza are the three utility replacements.

The match takes place at Pietermaritzburg’s Woodburn Stadium and kicks off at 15h30 on Saturday.

Sharks XV: 15. Garth April, 14. Alcino Izaacs, 13. Paul Jordaan, 12. Marius Louw, 11. Tonderai Chavanga, 10. Cameron Wright, 9. Hanco Venter, 8. Johan Meyer, 7. Sias Koen, 6. Khaya Majola, 5. JC Astle, 4. Johan du Toit, 3. Mthunzi Moloi, 2. Kyle Cooper (Captain), 1. Barend Potgieter
Replacements: 16. Andrew du Plessis, 17. Marne Coetzee, 18. Christiaan de Bruin, 19. Ayron Schramm, 20. Sandile Kubeka, 21. Tyler Fisher, 22. Charles Mayeza


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.