Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/10. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Changes for Sharks as Hurricanes loom

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, Sharks, Super Rugby on 7 May 2015 at 08:11
Tagged with : , , , , ,

The Sharks have been bolstered by the return of three international players for this week’s game against the Hurricanes, but have unfortunately lost two others in the process. In addition, Gary Gold has made several changes to the run-on side in light of the 33-point defeat suffered in Dunedin last Friday.

Jannie du Plessis returns for Lourens Adriaanse, to complete the all-Bok front row on which the Sharks have come to depend, while Renaldo Bothma has recovered too and will start in the number 8 jersey. Willem Alberts, who picked up an ankle injury against the Highlanders, drops out, meaning another run at blindside flank for Etienne Oosthuizen.

Wholesale changes in the backline see only JP Pietersen retain his place from last week; Stefan Ungerer and Lionel Cronje are the new halfbacks, with Frans Steyn joining Pietersen in midfield. S’bura Sithole moves from right wing to left, Odwa Ndungane is back in his most familiar number 14 jersey, while the Jake White experiment of Lwazi Mvovo at fullback seems set for another attempt too.

The bench is interesting indeed – featuring Kyle Cooper as loose forward replacement. There is no sign of Matt Stevens, Giant Mtayanda or Fred Zeilinga this week.

Sharks: 15. Lwazi Mvovo, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. JP Pietersen, 12. Francois Steyn, 11. S’bura Sithole, 10. Lionel Cronje, 9. Stefan Ungerer, 8. Renaldo Bothma, 7. Etienne Oosthuizen, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Marco Wentzel (Captain), 4. Stephan Lewies, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis, 1. Tendai Mtawarira
16. Franco Marais, 17. Dale Chadwick, 18. Lourens Adriaanse, 19. Mouritz Botha, 20. Kyle Cooper, 21. Conrad Hoffmann, 22. Andre Esterhuizen, 23. Waylon Murray


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.