Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/10. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Tommy the Tighthead?

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content on 11 May 2015 at 14:47
Tagged with : ,

Sharks prop Thomas du Toit, who earlier this month revealed on Twitter that he is considering a switch to tight head prop, is set to start in the number 3 jersey for the Junior Springboks as they take on the junior Argentine side in Santa Fe tomorrow.

Du Toit burst onto the scene last year as an 18 year old, with his formidable strength and 130kg frame seeing him slot in as a senior prop despite his youth. All of his appearances to date have come at loose head, although the other side of the scrum is familiar to him from his school days at Paarl Boys High. He could certainly become a highly rated tight head in time, perhaps taking after taller number 3s like New Zealand’s Carl Hayman.

It remains to be seen whether this shift is something that will enjoy the backing of the Sharks coaches as well – certainly if du Toit is to switch sides for the Junior Boks, he should probably do so for the Sharks at provincial level too.

Jean-Luc du Preez starts at number 8 as the only other Sharks player in the Junior Springbok starting lineup for this match, with Mzamo Majola and Hyron Andrews both benched. Dan du Preez, who is carrying a niggle, and Ruan Kramer should expect game time in the second match later in the week.

The Junior Springbok team to play against Los Pumitas is:
15. Malcolm Jaer (EP Kings)
14. Grant Hermanus (DHL Western Province)
13. JT Jackson (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
12. Daniel du Plessis (DHL Western Province)
11. Leolin Zas (DHL Western Province)
10. Ernst Stapelberg (DHL Western Province)
9. Marco Janse van Vuuren (Xerox Golden Lions)
8. Jean-Luc du Preez (Cell C Sharks)
7. Jacques Vermeulen (DHL Western Province)
6. Rikus Bothma (captain, DHL Western Province)
5. Jason Jenkins (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
4. Abongile Nonkontwana (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
3. Thomas du Toit (Cell C Sharks)
2. Joseph Dweba (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)
1. Ox Nche (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)
16. Mzamo Majola (Cell C Sharks)
17. Jan van der Merwe (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
18. Frans van Wyk (DHL Western Province)
19. Hyron Andrews (Cell C Sharks)
20. CJ Velleman (EP Kings)
21. Ivan van Zyl (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
22. Brandon Thomson (DHL Western Province)
23. Warrick Gelant (Vodacom Blue Bulls)


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.