Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/08. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Injury-enforced changes for Sharks

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, Sharks, Super Rugby on 27 May 2015 at 10:58
Tagged with : , , , , ,

Gary Gold has named a strong side to face the Rebels at Kings Park on Friday night, notwithstanding the need to replace a number of players due to injury.

Stephan Lewies (knee) and Frans Steyn (pectoral) have both been ruled out for extended periods; Mouritz Botha and Andre Esterhuizen replace them at 4 and 12 respectively. Esterhuizen was a late inclusion at right wing last week due to an injury to Odwa Ndungane, but the latter is fit to start this week.

The balance of the backline is unchanged, with Lwazi Mvovo again at fullback. In the pack, Marcell Coetzee enjoys a well-earned rest, with Renaldo Bothma taking over at open side flank. Ryan Kankowski returns in the number 8 jersey, while Willem Alberts has been bracketed with Etienne Oosthuizen at blindside flank. Alberts need to pass a late fitness test, if he falls out, Khaya Majola will come onto the bench and hope for a first Super Rugby cap.

Matt Stevens replaces Dale Chadwick on the bench this week, with Giant Mtayanda, Fred Zeilinga and Heimar Williams all included as well.

Sharks: 15. Lwazi Mvovo, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. JP Pietersen, 12. Andre Esterhuizen, 11. S’bura Sithole, 10. Lionel Cronje, 9. Stefan Ungerer, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Willem Alberts / Etienne Oosthuizen, 6. Renaldo Bothma, 5. Marco Wentzel (Captain), 4. Mouritz Botha, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis, 1. Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements: 16. Franco Marais, 17. Matt Stevens, 18. Lourens Adriaanse, 19. Lubabalo Mtyanda, 20. Etienne Oosthuizen / Khaya Majola, 21. Conrad Hoffmann, 22. Fred Zeilinga, 23. Heimar Williams


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.