Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/09. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Bok start for Marcell

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, Springboks on 9 Jul 2015 at 05:54
Tagged with : , , , ,

Heyneke Meyer has named his first Springbok match 23 of the season, with Sharks flanker Marcell Coetzee named to start at blindside flank in a rejigged loose trio.

Meyer hasn’t had the luxury of picking too much of his first choice selection, due mainly to injury. Beast Mtawarira and the du Plessis brothers start in the front row, with Eben Etzebeth and Victor Matfield (who captains) comprising the sort of tight five the coach would be likely to pick in a World Cup Final (if he gets there). The loss of Duane Vermeulen means a first start at 8 for Warren Whitely, while Coetzee will be asked to fill Willem Alberts’ typical role. Francois Louw is at openside flank.

Pat Lambie’s shares have fallen again while injured, meaning a return to the flyhalf berth for Handre Pollard, while Ruan Pienaar starts as his halfback partner. The midfield again looks rather experimental, with the in-form Damian de Allende finally picked in his best position (12) – although the form of regular captain Jean de Villiers lurking on the bench will mean de Allende has to play out of his skin to keep that spot. Jesse Kriel – usually a fullback – is a surprise pick at 13, his first start in that position at pretty much any level.

The good news is that JP Pietersen is back at his preferred position of right wing, completing a fantastically experienced back three with Bryan Habana and Willie le Roux.

Uncapped Pumas prop Vincent Koch is a newcomer on the bench, where he will join Bulls pair Adriaan Strauss and Trevor Nyakane as the front row reserves. Oupa Mohoje covers the second row, with Schalk Burger the loose forward replacement. Cobus Reinach and Lambie complete the 23, along with de Villiers.

South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Victor Matfield (captain), 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Teboho Mohoje, 20 Schalk Burger, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Jean de Villiers.


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.