Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/10. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Burger starts against Aussies

Written by Richard Ferguson (Richard Ferguson)

Posted in :Original Content, Springboks, Wallabies on 15 Jul 2015 at 08:14
Tagged with : , , , , , , , , , ,

Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has followed through on his promise of making changes to the team that beat the World XV last week, making 5 changes to the team to face Australia this weekend.

The only change to the starting team comes at the back of the scrum, where an unlucky Warren Whiteley falls out of the match 23 altogether with Schalk Burger starting in his place. Burger did make an impact off the bench against the World XV and completes a somewhat miraculous return to the starting team from his serious illness.

Meyer has explained his decision to start Burger in tandem with Francois Louw and Marcell Coetzee, stating that he expects the Australians to be very good at the breakdown, and with the loose trio working with hooker Bismarck du Plessis, the Boks will have a good chance of competing on the ground.

As for the other changes, Heinke van der Merwe and Frnas Malherbe get their chance to show what they have in the front row, replacing Trevor Nyakane and Vincent Koch. Lood de Jager comes onto the bench with Oupa Mohoje shifting 1 jersey number to cover the loose trio. Lwazi Mvovo is the final change, coming onto the bench in place of Jean de Villiers, who remained in South Africa.

The Springboks open their Rugby Championship campaign on Saturday morning, kick off at 12h00.

South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Schalk Burger, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Victor Matfield (captain), 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.

Substitutes: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Heinke van der Merwe, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Lood de Jager, 20 Oupa Mohoje, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Lwazi Mvovo


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.