Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/09. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Pietersen injured, Mapoe gets bench time

Written by Richard Ferguson (Richard Ferguson)

Posted in :All Blacks, Original Content, Springboks on 23 Jul 2015 at 07:16
Tagged with : , , , ,

On the same day as the team was announced, Heyneke Meyer was forced into making changes after JP Pietersen injured himself in training. Pietersen strained a hamstring and the seriousness of his injury is unknown at this stage.

Cornal Hendricks goes from not being in the match 23 to starting a week later while Lionel Mapoe is set to make his debut off the bench.

Personally, I don’t mind this move so much. It will be good to see again what Hendricks can offer before the World Cup. It’s a shame that it took an injury to bring him and Mapoe into the squad, but both players will have to make the most of the situation.

Mapoe on the bench offers a few more options later in the game, suddenly being able to move Kriel to fullback later in the match with Mapoe coming into the centres, is something that would not have been possible with Hendricks on the bench. This would be ideal if Willie le Roux has another mare of a first 40 minutes.

South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Schalk Burger (captain), 7 Francois Louw, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Substitutes: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Warren Whiteley, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Lionel Mapoe


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.