Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/08. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Sharks named for friendly

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Currie Cup, Original Content, Sharks on 30 Jul 2015 at 13:46
Tagged with : , , ,

Gary Gold has named a squad of 33 players to face the Lions in Pietermaritzburg tomorrow night.

The coach has already indicated that he will replace the entire team at half time, thus it’s safe to assume that those replacements numbered 16-30 are essentially the enture team that will take the field after the break (assuming on injury disruptions along the way).

Props Dale Chadwick and Lourens Adriaanse start the match, with Monde Hadebe between them. Etienne Oosthuizen and Marco Wentzel complete the tight five, with Khaya Majola, Jean-Luc du Preez and Philip van der Walt comprising the loose trio.

Mike Claassens and Joe Pietersen form an experienced halfback combination, with Andre Esterhuizen and Paul Jordaan combining in midfield. Interesting selections at wing see uncapped Alcino Izaacs and Charlie Mayeza take the field, with SP Marais at fullback.

In the second half, Franco Marais will be in between Juan Schoeman and Thomas du Toit (the latter at tight head), with Wiehan hay and Pieter-Steph du Toit behind them. Interestginly, Dave McDuling and Christiaan du Bruin will operate at 7 and 8, with Franna Kleinhans in his regular number 6 jersey.

Stefan Ungerer and Lionel Cronje re-unite as the halfbacks, with Wandi Mjekevu chosen as Heimar Williams’ centre partner. Garth April is the newbie at fullback, playing with experienced wingers in S’bura Sithole and Odwa Ndungane.

Tondie Chavhanga, Gerhard Engelbrecht and JC Astle are the three extra reserves.

15 SP Marais, 14 Charlie Mayeza, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Alcino Izaacs, 10 Joe Pietersen, 9 Michael Claassens, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Khaya Majola, 5 Marco Wentzel, 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Lourens Adriaanse, 2 Monde Hadebe, 1 Dale Chadwick

30 Garth April, 29 Odwa Ndungane, 28 Wandile Mjekevu, 27 Heimar Williams 26 S’bura Sithole, 25 Lionel Cronje, 24 Stefan Ungerer, 23 Christiaan de Bruin, 22 Dave McDuling, 21 Francois Kleinhans, 20 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 19 Wiehan Hay, 18 Thomas du Toit, 17 Franco Marais, 16 Juan Schoeman.

31 Gerhard Engelbrecht, 32 JC Astle, 33 Tonderai Chanvahnga


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.