Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/09. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Springbok squad announced

Written by Richard Ferguson (Richard Ferguson)

Posted in :Original Content, RWC 2015, Springboks on 28 Aug 2015 at 18:24
Tagged with : , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has named his 31 man squad for the Rugby World Cup to be held in England and Wales, kicking off in three weeks’ time. The squad has it’s talking points, much of which were discussed before the announcement already.

Jean de Villiers will lead the team attempting to become the first to win the coveted prize a third time. His inclusion completes a very long recovery from what looked like a career ending knee injury.

Looking at the squad, Coenie Oosthuizen’s ability to pack on both sides of the scrum has booked him a seat ahead of the likes of Vincent Koch, while Schalk Brits’ knowledge of the European setup gets him a spot.

Pieter-Steph du Toit, although listed as a lock, should be counted as a utility forward with the experiment of playing him on the side of the scrum gaining momentum. Siya Kolisi also gets a spot instead of an injured Marcell Coetzee. One has to feel that he will be the first one on a plane should a loose forward go down injured.

As for the backs, Rudy Paige gets the nod ahead of an out of sorts Cobus Reinach while Morne Steyn is back in the mix after not playing at all this international season so far. His experience stands him and the Springboks in good stead.

Damian de Allende and Jesse Kriel unsurprisingly complete the centres with captain de Villiers, while Lwazi Mvovo impressed in his last start against Argentina, booking himself a seat ahead of Cornal Hendricks. Zane Kirchner also seemingly doing enough to warrant a spot, his European knowledge perhaps sneaking him into the squad.

Props: Jannie du Plessis, Frans Malherbe, Tendai Mtawarira, Trevor Nyakane, Coenie Oosthuizen
Hookers: Schalk Brits, Bismarck du Plessis, Adriaan Strauss
Locks: Lood de Jager, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Eben Etzebeth, Victor Matfield
Loose Forwards: Willem Alberts, Schalk Burger, Siya Kolisi, Francois Louw, Duane Vermeulen

Scrumhalves: Fourie du Preez, Ruan Pienaar, Rudy Paige
Flyhalves: Pat Lambie, Handre Pollard, Morne Steyn
Centres: Damian de Allende, Jean de Villiers (Capt), Jesse Kriel
Wings: Bryan Habana, Lwazi Mvovo, JP Pietersen
Fullbacks: Willie le Roux, Zane Kirchner


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.