Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/09. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Junior sides announced

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, Sharks on 24 Sep 2015 at 09:25
Tagged with : , , , , , , ,

Michael Horak’s Sharks under 21 side will look to avenge a single-point defeat to the Blue Bulls when the teams met at Loftus earlier in the year, and take advantage of a congested competition log to force their way into knock-out contention this weekend.

The Sharks are currently in fifth spot on the competition log, but trail the fourth-placed Bulls by just two points with a game in hand. A good win at Kings Park tomorrow (5:45pm kick-off) could catapult the Sharks as high as third. Fresh from their decent away win against the Lions, Marius Louw and his team should be high on confidence and Horak has made few changes as he seeks to maintain momentum.

Mzamo Majola’s elevation to the Currie Cup squad means a start for Barend Potgieter at loosehead prop with Mees Erasmus coming into the squad as cover. The only other change is at fullback, with Riaan O’Neill in for Alrin Eksteen in the last line of defence. Jacques Fick takes over as reserve scrumhalf from Lotter Pretorius, while Sandile Kubeka returns from a long injury lay-off to feature in the number 22 jersey.

Sharks under 21:
15 Riaan O’Neill, 14 Neil Maritz, 13 Nkululeko Marwana, 12 Marius Louw (capt), 11 Sipho Mkhize, 10 Inny-Christian Radebe, 9 Rowan Gouws, 8 Ayron Schramm, 7 Retief Marais, 6 Graham Geldenhuys, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Johan du Toit, 3 Ruan Kramer, 2 Andrew du Plessis, 1 Barend Potgieter.
Replacements: 16 Kerron van Vuuren, 17 Johan Erasmus, 18 Mthunzi Moloi, 19 Jean Drotse, 20 Wian Vosloo, 21 Jacques Fick, 22 Sandile Kubeka

Paul Anthony has had to shuffle his under 19 backline this week, bringing in Chris Lines at inside centre for Wayno Visagie and Brent Christoffels at left wing. Mike Meyer leads an unchanged forward pack from number 8.

In a rather strange move, Glenwood loosehead Chris Klopper has been included as one of three props on the bench. The game kicks off at 3:45pm.

Sharks under 19:
15 Morne Joubert, 14 S’busiso Nkosi, 13 Tristan Blewett, 12 Chris Lines, 11 Brent Christoffels, 10 Tristan Tedder, 9 Gervin Rossouw, 8 Mike Meyer (capt), 7 Rikus Zwart, 6 Bernardus Haring, 5 Rowan Coetzer, 4 Christie van der Merwe, 3 Kabelo Motloung, 2 Bradley Roberts, 1 Marq-Anthony Lombard.
Subs: 16 Ulric Sellar, 17 Wentzel Vorster, 18 Johnathan Vorster, 19 Christopher Klopper, 20 Duncan MacDonald, 21 Jaywinn Juries, 22 Stephan Nel, 23 Jasper Genis


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.