Android app on Google Play

recent posts

Like Sharksworld?

We'd love a contribution towards the running costs...
How much do you like Sharksworld?
Message to the webmaster

recent comments

Currie Cup Log

Team Points
Premier Division
Xerox Golden Lions 10 10 48
Vodacom Blue Bulls 10 8 39
DHL Western Province 10 7 35
Toyota Free State Cheetahs 10 3 24
Cell C Sharks 10 4 22
Steval Pumas 10 3 17
Eastern Province Kings 10 2 12
ORC Griquas 10 1 8
Full log




© 2008-2012 Sharksworld.

Originally based on a design by Upstart Blogger.

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory My Zimbio

Error: Unable to create directory wp-content/uploads/2020/09. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Fourie’s the (jolly good) captain

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, RWC 2015, Springboks on 30 Sep 2015 at 18:24
Tagged with : , , , , , ,

Heyneke Meyer has made three changes to his starting team to take on Scotland in a vital Pool B clash at the Rugby World Cup on Saturday. Fourie du Preez will lead the side onto St James’ Park, after both Jean de Villiers and Victor Matfield were ruled out with injuries.

Jesse Kriel comes straight in for de Villiers at outside centre, thus reuniting a centre combination with Damian de Allende that has looked potent on attack when picked together (albeit less so defensively). The balance of the backline is retained from the unit that comfortably outclassed Samoa, with three-try hero JP Pietersen again at right wing.

Up front, Lood de Jager comes in for Matfield in the number 5 jersey and he’ll form an exciting partnership with Eben Etzebeth in the second row. Bismarck du Plessis returns for Adriaan Strauss in the only unforced change to the lineup.

Further changes on the bench see Strauss replace Schalk Brits, Pieter-Steph du Toit in as reserve lock, Willem Alberts replace Siya Kolisi and Jan Serfontein take over from Kriel.

The Springbok team to face Scotland in Newcastle is:

Position/Name/Franchise or Club/Test/Caps/Test points

15. Willie le Roux Toyota Cheetahs (29 caps, 45 points)
14. JP Pietersen Cell C Sharks (62 caps, 105 points)
13. Jesse Kriel Vodacom Bulls (6 caps, 10 points)
12. Damian De Allende DHL Stormers (8 caps, 0 points)
11. Bryan Habana Toulon (112 caps, 300 points)
10. Handré Pollard Vodacom Bulls (15 caps, 114 points)
9. Fourie du Preez (captain) Suntory (72 caps, 75 points)
8. Duane Vermeulen DHL Stormers (30 caps, 10 points)
7. Schalk Burger (vice-captain) DHL Stormers (81 caps, 75 points)
6. Francois Louw Bath (38 caps, 30 points)
5. Lood de Jager Toyota Cheetahs (14 caps, 20 points)
4. Eben Etzebeth DHL Stormers (39 caps, 5 points)
3. Jannie du Plessis Cell C Sharks (66 caps, 5 points)
2. Bismarck du Plessis Cell C Sharks (74 caps, 50 points)
1. Tendai Mtawarira Cell C Sharks (70 caps, 10 points)
16. Adriaan Strauss Vodacom Bulls (50 caps, 30 points)
17. Trevor Nyakane Vodacom Bulls (18 caps, 5 points)
18. Frans Malherbe DHL Stormers (7 caps, 0 points)
19. Pieter-Steph du Toit Cell C Sharks (5 caps, 0 points)
20. Willem Alberts Cell C Sharks (33 caps, 35 points)
21. Ruan Pienaar Ulster (86 caps, 135 points)
22. Pat Lambie Cell C Sharks (46 caps, 131 points)
23. Jan Serfontein Vodacom Bulls (21 caps, 10 points)


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.